Cuckfield Book Festival began in 2016 when three friends who were literature festival groupies had the idea of putting on a festival in the village of Cuckfield.

So from small beginnings in 2017, it has grown steadily and in 2019 over 1800 people came to enjoy a wide variety of talks and workshops.

Authors who have appeared at Cuckfield BookFest include: Celia Imrie, Damian Barr, Mark Billingham,
Stella Rimington, Elly Griffiths, Anthony Seldon, Penelope Lively, Robin Ince, Jenni Murray,
Tim Waterstone, John Crace, Iain Dale, Kate Mosse, – and many more besides.

We have received some appreciative comments from them over the years:

What a delightful weekend. CuckFest is without doubt my favourite festival.

It was such a delight to take part in the Cuckfield Bookfest on Saturday. Thank you and your team for making it such a welcoming event – so well organised and with a lovely, positive energy.

Well, ANOTHER triumph! Well done for a corker of a festival.

One of my favourite festivals and now part of the canon.

What fun that was. I really enjoyed it, and not least because the lovely Cuckfield audience of yours were so warm and attentive and friendly!

You run a lovely festival, chic and interesting and diverse and intimate and full of warmth and friendliness. Bravo y’all.

The Magnificent BookFest Team

There are many people who work tirelessly to make BookFest so successful each year. From choosing great Authors to join us, to preparing the Quiz or Children’s Events – to sound and lighting, all our volunteers are greatly appreciated.